GO

Glassics Online

Classic Fiberglass Boats

Forums

Forum Home > General Discussion > Installing a bow eye

raymold408

I want to install a bow eye on the front of my boat. I am new to boating and this is my first boat. It is a 16 ft fiberglass with easy access to the inside of the closed bow. Right now it is tied to my trailer winch by ropes tied to the chocks on the bow. Does anyone have some advice? Would this be something I could do myself or is it best to have it done professionally?

Any help would be appreciated.

February 25, 2012 at 12:33 PM Flag Quote & Reply

MarkS

Hi Ray, and welcome aboard.  This is definitely something you can do yourself, assuming you're handy with basic tools.  I'm assuming there is no bow eye there now?  If not, you'll need to purchase the hardware first to determine the size of hole you'll need to drill for the mounting stud(s).  Bow eyes are available in several styles, some with one stud and some with two.  (I prefer the two, seems to me to be a stronger design.)  You'll also need some sealant to put on the mounting stud(s) - 3M 5200 or something similar will work fine, and is available at many hardware stores.  I also like to install a hardwood "backer" board on the inside, to help strengthen the hull behind the eye.  (Helps spread to load over a larger area)  You may need to bevel the edges of the board to fit down into the "V", if that is the case with your boat.  This can be done with a saw or a grinder, whatever you have handy.  One thing to keep in mind when deciding where to mount it - you want the bow eye to be just under the bow stop on the trailer if possible.  This helps prevent the boat from riding up and over the bow stop in the event of sudden stops or an accident.

Hope this helps, post some pics when you get a chance and don't be afraid to let us know if you have any questions. ;)

--

Mark S

February 26, 2012 at 6:59 AM Flag Quote & Reply

raymold408